Our Region

Home / Our Region

The XV Region of Arica and Parinacota or Arica and Parinacota Region, also known just as Arica and Parinacota, is the most northern of the fifteen regions in which Chile is divided. It limits to the north with Peru, to the south with Tarapacá Region, to the east with Bolivia and to the west with the Pacific Ocean.



Arica is by its geography Chile’s first or last city, depending on your position: it is the country’s most northern city. A typical border town located a few kilometers from its neighbor Peru; it is one of the most beautiful northern cities in Chile.

Its location achieves a perfect combination between the ferocity of the Pacific Ocean, an arid desert and the majestic highlands that connect it with its also neighbor Bolivia. With a population of 180 thousand permanent inhabitants, during the summer Arica becomes a tourist destination welcoming visitors from Peru and Bolivia.

Not just tourists, also the locals use its excellent roads to enjoy the wide and beautiful beaches like Chinchorro, El Laucho and La Lisera, where water sports are the first preference.

Arica is also an obligatory stop for those who intent to connect Atacama desert with international destinations as Machu Pichu in Peru or Bolivia’s Titicaca Lake. In the city, visitors can enjoy the walks and public fairs; the majestic main square, under the tutelage of the famous and ancient Morro of Arica, from where an unforgettable panoramic view of the whole city is achieved.




Parinacota is a Chilean province that belongs to the Arica and Parinacota Region since October 8 of 2007. It limits to the north with Tacna, a province of Peru; to the south with the province of Tamarugal; to the east with Bolivia’s La Paz and Oruro; and to the west with Arica.

The highlands of Parinacota are one of the most beautiful places of the region, mainly because of their landscapes, where land and sky blend into the horizon, and clouds delight us with their different colors and shapes.

The province is the house of Lauca National Park, the National Reservation Las Vicuñas, and the Natural Monument Salar de Surire; together they conform a World declared Biosphere Reserve by UNESCO in 1983.

Among the flora of the province there are tolares, candelabra cactus and wetlands; also the province has an endemic fauna with various species of camelids and a diverse birdlife (parinas, giant taguas and jergón ducks) visible for tourists.

All the above can be enjoyed by the visitors, due to the zone’s touristic development. Therefore, it is also possible to practice activities such as mountain climbing, hiking, adventure tourism, ecotourism, photographic safari expeditions, and relaxing natural spas, among other fascinating plans.

The beauty of the zone’s landscapes reaches its highest with Chungará Lake; and volcanoes Pomerape and Parinacota, known as the Payachatas that emerge impressively, in the middle of silence and cold, over a 6.000 meters height.

In these lands, the presence of Aymara ethnic group becomes visible, which leads to a zone rich in traditions and rituals to venerate and thank Mother Earth (Pachamama in Aymará). Its architecture reflected in the design and adobe construction forms of Altiplanic churches express a new conception of life represented in the complementary relation between man and woman. The reciprocity and respect between individuals and their environment, which are the foundations of the Aymara culture and vision.

links of interest


Fundación Altiplano

Chile es tuyo

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Start typing and press Enter to search